Plot: “Captain Jack Sparrow searches for the trident of Poseidon.” (imdb.com)

Directors: Joachim Rønning, Espen Sandberg

Stars: Johnny Depp, Javier Bardem, Geoffrey Rush, Brenton Thwaites, Kaya Scodelario

Genre: Adventure, Fantasy

WARNING: MAJOR SPOILERS!

Here we go again. I watched Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales last night so here’s my first impression of it (it will contain major spoilers so if you haven’t watched the film yet and don’t want to know anything about it, you should probably stop reading now). I’ve always been a massive fan of the Pirates films, I watched The Curse of the Black Pearl at the cinema back in 2003 when I was only 7 years old and I’ve been hooked ever since. I never missed the opportunity to watch all the others at the cinema as well so, even though I had little to no expectations for this one, I went to see it hoping it’ll be good. I am not quite sure yet if I genuinely liked it or if I was just excited to watch a new Pirates film. However, it was definitely better than the fourth one (Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides), which I hated so much for so many reasons I deleted it from my memory. I don’t think it was as good as the first 3 films either, but it was fun. One last warning about spoilers, I’m about to reveal literally every single subplot so be warned.

pirates3

A few words about the plot: Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann’s son, Henry (Brenton Thwaites) is trying to find Jack Sparrow and ask for his help to find the Trident of Poseidon, a powerful artifact which gives the owner complete control over the seas, in order to break William Turner’s curse and free him from the Flying Dutchman. However, he is not the only one looking for the Trident. Captain Salazar (Javier Bardem) and his crew of cursed ghost sailors have escaped from the Devil’s Triangle and now they are seeking revenge, determined to kill every pirate including Jack Sparrow since he was the one who trapped them there years ago. So, Jack’s only hope is also the Trident of Poseidon. To find the Trident, Jack must forge an alliance with Carina Smyth (Kaya Scodelario), a brilliant young astronomer, and Henry Turner.

pirates5

Carina is an interesting character and a good addition; she was smarter than the lot of them and equally brave. The biggest plot twist for me was the fact that Barbossa turned out to be Carina’s father. I should have seen it coming really, most of the characters in these films are related in one way or another. And as you make peace with that fact and start feeling happy they finally found each other, Barbossa sacrifices himself in order to defeat Captain Salazar and save his daughter, Jack and Henry. Why was that necessary? I honestly don’t know.

pirates2

New characters Carina Smyth and Henry Turner are romantic interests, obviously trying to replace or at least remind us of Will Turner and Elizabeth Swann, but their chemistry is almost non-existent. And now that I’ve mentioned Will and Elizabeth…holy shit. I knew they would be in the film very briefly but, I must admit, I teared up a bit when I saw them. Especially Keira Knightley. I would watch those 10 seconds she was in the film again and again. I still stand by what I’ve always said: the Pirates of the Caribbean films are about Jack, Will and Elizabeth (and maybe that’s one of the reasons so many people disliked On Stranger Tides). They were a trio with amazing chemistry and they were the heart of the trilogy.

pirates6

The film was fast-paced with excellent visual effects and sounds. It was, for the most part, lighthearted and very funny but without making it any less piratey. Dead Men Tell No Tales was closer to the original trilogy and I am glad for that, I didn’t want to re-live that huge disappointment I felt when I exited the cinema after On Stranger Tides. Hans Zimmer’s score from the previous films was re-used and, I’m not going to lie, it made me feel a bit emotional. One of the best film scores ever written. I am positive that the devoted Pirates fans will enjoy this one, especially if they were disappointed by the fourth film like I was. If you have already watched it, let me know if you liked it or not!

