I think we can all agree on the importance of film scores. A good film with a great soundtrack becomes immediately better. I’ve always loved film soundtracks and most of the music on my phone is instrumental scores or songs from various films. Below is a list of my favourite film scores, in no particular order. I might have forgotten a few of my favourites.

 

  • Cloud Atlas (2012)

cloudatlassoundtrack

Cloud Atlas is definitely one of my top 3 favourite films. It’s one of those films that you either hate or love, but I think most of us can agree that the film’s score is beautiful. It was composed by Tom Tykwer, Johnny Klimek, and Reinhold Heil. My favourite tracks are All Boundaries Are Conventions, Death Is Only A Door, Cloud Atlas Finale, and Cloud Atlas End Title. You can click the link to find a YouTube playlist with Cloud Atlas’ original score (x).

 

  • The Pirates of the Caribbean (2003-2007)

PotC

I know that the Pirates of the Caribbean films are 5 but to me it will always be a trilogy, that is why I included only the first 3 films. I used to be obsessed with the Pirates films as a young girl, as well as with The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. I grew up with those films and I still love them to death. The Pirates of the Caribbean music was composed by Klaus Badelt and Hans Zimmer and it is definitely one of my all time favourite film soundtracks. There are some epic tracks including I Don’t Think Now Is The Best Time, At Wit’s End, Davy Jones, and Hello Beastie. This link is a compilation of the best of the first 3 films’ soundtracks, and this link is a playlist with all the tracks from the first 4 films.

 

  • The Lord of the Rings (2001-2003)

LotR

Another masterpiece. The Lord of the Rings music was composed, orchestrated and conducted by the brilliant Howard Shore. Some of my favourite tracks are The Bridge of Khazad-dûm, The Return of the King, and The Council of Elrond. Click on the link to listen to the complete Lord of the Rings soundtrack from all three films, which over 3 hours long (x). I feel ready for another Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit marathon.

 

  • The Hobbit (2012-2014)

TheHobbit

To be honest, I don’t know exactly why so many Lord of the Rings fans disliked The Hobbit trilogy. To me they are equal, I think. The music is once again composed by Howard Shore. A few of my favourite tracks are Sons of Durin, Misty Mountains, and The World is Ahead. This is An Unexpected Journey‘s soundtrack, this is The Desolation of Smaug‘s soundtrack, and this is The Battle of the Five Armies‘ soundtrack. Take a look behind the scenes by clicking on the link to watch a production video (x). God, I love those production videos.

 

  • Harry Potter (2001-2011)

HarryPotter

The Harry Potter scores were composed by John Williams, Alexandre Desplat, Nicholas Hooper, and Patrick Doyle. How am I supposed to choose only a couple of tracks? The ones I listen to the most are Buckbeak’s Flight, Lily’s Theme, Dumbledore’s Farewell, and Obliviate. There is a complete soundtrack playlist on YouTube with 174 tracks, so click here if you are interested. Oh, the memories.

 

  • Interstellar (2014)

Interstellar0

Hans Zimmer did it again. The Interstellar score is absolutely perfect. Favourite tracks are Mountains, No Time for Caution, and S.T.A.Y. Click here for the complete soundtrack playlist. Also, check my Interstellar post if you like.

 

  • The Da Vinci Code (2006)

davinci0

Another one of my favourite films with a great score. Of course, probably the most famous track is the one you see on the picture, Chevaliers De Sangreal (x), which is also my personal favourite. I can’t wait to write about this film! Here‘s the complete playlist, enjoy.

 

  • Titanic (1997)

Titanic

I think most people associate Titanic with Celine Dion’s My Heart Will Go On, but the film also has a beautiful score composed by James Horner. I think I am unable to listen to this music and not cry. I genuinely believe one of the reasons this film is so sad is because of the music. My favourite tracks? Hmm. Hymn to the Sea (I dare you to listen to this one and not feel emotional), Rose, and An Ocean of Memories. You can find the complete playlist here.

 

  • Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007)

SweeneyTodd0

I was only 11 years old when Sweeney Todd came out and watched it. Needless to say I couldn’t sleep for days. But I loved the songs from the minute I heard them. My favourite ones are Epiphany, Pretty Women, and My Friends. The music was composed by Danny Elfman and the songs were written by Stephen Sondheim. Listen to the songs here.

 

  • The Prince of Egypt (1998)

ThePrinceofEgypt

The last 3 films on my list are animated. We begin with The Prince of Egypt; the music is once again composed by Hans Zimmer. My favourite song is The Plagues. That scene along with that song are simply perfect. Plus, Ralph Fiennes (who voiced Rameses) is singing! Love this man. You can find the soundtrack here.

 

  • The Lion King (1994)

thelionking

Who doesn’t love The Lion King? Another one of my favourite childhood films. The score was, of course, composed by Hans Zimmer and the songs were written by Elton John and Tim Rice. Favourite tracks are Battle of Pride Rock/Cleansing Rain and This Land. Favourite songs are Be Prepared (obviously, Jeremy Irons is amazing) and Circle of Life. Click on the links to listen to the film’s music and songs (x), (x).

 

  • The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1996)

thond

I find it interesting that for someone who is not religious at all I love a lot of religion-themed films. The Hunchback of Notre Dame is one of my favourite films ever, both as a child and as an adult. I was obsessed with it when I was a little girl and I still am, to be honest. The music is sublime; I get goosebumps every time I listen to it. Alan Menken’s best work in my opinion. My favourite songs are Hellfire and The Bells of Notre Dame and my favourite tracks are Sanctuary and And He Shall Smite the Wicked. You can listen to this masterpiece here.

 

So, this is the end. Other films with great soundtracks are The Imitation Game (2014), Inglourious Basterds (2009), Polar Express (2004) and Ex Machina (2015). I’m sure I’ve forgotten quite a few but this post turned out longer than I expected so I’ll leave it here. Let me know which are your favourite film scores!

