Plot: “The story of a bride-to-be trying to find her real father told using hit songs by the popular ’70s group ABBA.” (imdb.com)

Director: Phyllida Lloyd

Stars: Meryl Streep, Amanda Seyfried, Colin Firth, Pierce Brosnan, Stellan Skarsgård, Julie Walters, Christine Baranski, Dominic Cooper

Genre: Comedy, Family, Musical

 

I was rewatching Mamma Mia for the hundredth time or something the other day and I realised I haven’t written about it yet. Unacceptable, so here we go! Mamma Mia is set in a beautiful Greek island and is about Sophie (Amanda Seyfried), a 20-year-old bride-to-be, who wants her father to be there with her on her special day. The problem is that she’s never met her dad and has no idea who he might be. With the help of her mother’s old diary, she finds three potential fathers and invites them all without letting her mum know. And that is how Sam (Pierce Brosnan), Bill (Stellan Skarsgård), and Harry (Colin Firth) end up on a sunny Greek island.

mammamia3

New arrivals also include Donna’s (Meryl Streep) oldest friends Tanya (Christine Baranski) and Rosie (Julie Walters). God, those two are HILARIOUS. Many people have said that Tanya and Rosie are probably the funniest characters in the film and they are not wrong. Watching those three singing and dancing to Dancing Queen puts a huge smile on my face. Whether you are a fan of ABBA or not, the updated versions of the songs will (hopefully) win you over.

mammamia2

The songs and choreography and everything are so uplifting, the Greek scenery is beautiful and the plot is funny and entertaining. What’s not to love? The songs are expertly worked into the story and everything makes sense. I enjoyed every second of it. It’s a film that doesn’t take itself seriously and it’s guaranteed that you will have a good laugh. Plus, the actors look like they were having the time of their lives filming it.

mammamia4

Mamma Mia is such a sweet film and it’s so much fun to watch, which is probably one of the reasons I love it so much. The cast is simply excellent, and not because most of them are big names. Their singing might not be spectacular (according to every review ever) but so what? It never fails to cheer me up, I always end up singing along (and let me tell you, I have a terrible singing voice) and it makes me feel happy. I was lucky enough to watch the stage production as well when they were on tour a couple of years ago and it was an utterly joyous experience! So, my fellow Dancing Queens, put Mamma Mia on, sit back and enjoy!

mammamia5

